TL;DR -- Photography, Salsa, Toastmasters -- all 3 have added value to my life, and despite the naysayers, its a very interesting life.

I started gaming around 6 or 7 years old.

We always had a NES, Ninentdo 64, Dreamcast, Playstation 2, Xbox, Xbox One, Ps4, you name. My dad always had this genuine desire to buy video games for me and my siblings. Even when he moved our nephews into our house, he dropped $450 on a Ps4 to keep these two preteens preoccupied.

I was in a danger zone, and I have been for the last decade.

From the moment I started playing Halo 3 in 2007, I immediately became addicted to the instant gratification. And it has been this way for nearly the last 10 years. I measured this up to me being irresponsible, and not taking care of my own priorities.

I would routinely skip class to play Xbox Live all morning, and leave in the afternoon

Video games are cool, but how cool are they? Who wants to hear me talk about ranking up in Grand Theft Auto 3? Who wants to hear me talk about finishing Red Dead Redemption 2 in 48 hours?

No one...

One thing I observed, when I shrugged off going to the gym (it was bullshit anyway), I had a desire to pickup on different hobbies to make my life more interesting and my life changed.

I created a vested interest in doing more outside of LA Fitness. The reality of it was, I would go to to the gym, throw on my headphones, do my workout, and leave. I had no desire to interact with anyone because I stuck to my workout regimen.

Photography

I said fuck it. I spent about $500 on a camera, and started pursuing a creative hobby. I got tired of feeling like I wasn't meeting new people and creating a new network. This was my medium to meeting new people, and in the process, I ended up hooking up with one of the "models" from our monthly photography meetups here in DC.

I have been doing photography since 2016.

Salsa/Bachata