EDIT: Thanks, everybody, for the great advice, tough love and shared experiences. I'm already feeling a lot better knowing I didn't just get hit by a drive-by -- I only got what I deserved by acting like that. Looks like I've got some reading to do and a gym to hit.

--

SUMMARY: Newly divorced beta who's always thought TRP was mindgame advice for guys who just want sex gets into his first new relationship in a decade and learns the hard way how right TRP is

THE STORY:

Just got divorced out of a loveless marriage where we'd been sleeping in separate rooms the last few years. Got myself a sweet bachelor pad a few blocks from work, bought some nice clothes.

While I was busy moving and finding a new place, a miracle dropped in my lap: A cute girl ten years younger than me, who loved my work (I'm a writer), started fangirling up to me. Well, after years of drought, I responded to the attention like a guy coming in out of the desert to a glass of water.

We started hanging out every day. I tried to impress her with my status and bank, taking her out to really nice restaurants, booking her massages at my gym. She was living with a boyfriend, but gave me the impression they were on the outs and that they were mostly together for the rent. Lots of touching from her, long looks, frank talk about sex, bashful looks when I complimented her, talk of sleepovers and the future.

I'm sure you can see where this is going...

After many dates, I'm still getting hugs and pecks on the cheek. I confront her about it and get emasculated that I'm being "crazy" for wanting to move "too fast". Suddenly I'm a creep for treating her like a whore. So we keep "dating", presumably at a slower pace -- but STILL I'm getting the heavy flirting, all the green light signals, all the touching, the looks, the innuendo-filled talks -- and STILL I'm going to bed with blue balls every night.