I am 25. I work in finance, and have for 2 years. My feminine side was squashed so much that the idea of even trying to pull mine back out sounded exhausting.

I did it anyway, and it was, in fact, exhausting, but is now something I find so much joy and freedom in.

I began by slowly implementing some of the lifestyle changes I’ve read on the sub. I started really leaning into and embracing my feminine side by dressing nicer, putting some lotion on, making myself do my skincare routine no matter how done I was with the day, etc. I wasn’t dating when I started any of this because I wanted to become secure in myself, and I wanted to learn how to maintain these habits for myself first, so that I wouldn’t lose them in a relationship if they went unnoticed or anything.

I went about this for several months, then decided I was ready to start dating. I approached dating FAR differently this time around, and focused on holding myself to higher standards, while giving men validation for their kindness, efforts, successes, intelligence, etc.

Y’all. The number of times I have heard, “You’re the only woman who has ever said that to me, thank you!” is actually heartbreaking. The number of times I’ve been thanked for being “different,” when, after reading the sub, is really just leaning into what feels right by being supportive and genuine, is scary. It’s scary because I realized I used to be the kind of woman who didn’t lift men up, and still expected to be lifted up, and I am ashamed of that. I’m ashamed that I was so afraid of being a “pick me” (ugh), that I was willing to sacrifice years of happiness and fulfillment within marriage or motherhood in the name of liberation and freedom, when I had that within myself all along. I just needed to be myself, which, for me, meant regaining the femininity I had lost and losing the entitlement I held.