Hey, Ya'll, this is u/aging-chad. I'm new to posting but not at all new to this community. I spent my twenties and early thirties floating aimlessly through life without purpose, hoping some young lady would "love me for me." That all changed about five years ago when I found this subreddit, ignored the propaganda against it, and sifted painfully through the chaff to digest the wheat. I travel for work. I'm a travel nurse in America. I've been all over the country over the last several years from DC to LA and virtually everywhere in between. My quest for coin has most recently led me to a small city (about 30,000 people) in Central Wisconsin, the backdrop for my tale. That's probably enough introduction; no one gives a shit anyway.

Being my first weekend in a new place, I decided to hit up a local bar around 11pm. The place is fairly packed with people who seem to be in their late twenties, or early thirties while "Black" by Pearl Jam plays on the speaker system. It's my kind of vibe. I sit down at the bar, stay bundled up because its -4 degrees outside, and begin a friendly conversation with the young male bartender. I order a whiskey on ice, and he shows me my options--after a discussion about local distilleries (or the lack thereof) I settle on Jack Daniels because he said it "was the best." We all know it's not the best, but he's a young guy and the drink will do--a theme that will run through the evening.