An old plate of mine hit me up a few weeks ago to hang out. In her text she made it clear that she likes me, but kinda feels guilty to hang out, because she had a boyfriend. I replied with “cool, it doesn’t change anything”. She was happy and promised to hit me up soon to hang out.

Of course she didn’t because women are so passive, so I initiated the meeting.

I wanted to check out an open mic stand-up comedy event, and she’s into stand-up comedy herself, so I thought that would be a perfect pretense. Keep in mind that at that time I still wasn’t sure if I wanted to make a move on a taken girl (I’ve never done that before).

After the event I invited her to my place. I cooked a dinner for us (TRP will probably hate me for it, but I was hungry, she was hungry too and was my guest) and then tried making a move on her.

Her: What are you doing?! I told you I’m not single, I have a boyfriend!

Me: I used to have a hamster.

Her: ??? What?

Me: Things that don’t matter in this conversation.

Her, making a “what a fucking asshole” face: Why do guys want always something from me, why we can’t be just friends?

Me: Sure, we can be friends… with benefits.

Her: I mean I like you, but I would feel bad for cheating on my boyfriend.

During this conversation I expected her to get up and leave at any time. I was actually surprised when she said she liked me, after being so clearly upset a few seconds before. I guess I held my frame correctly.

What happened next surprised me even more: She started complaining about her boyfriend. How he’s so clingy and wants to see her every day. How she wants to start her own business and he’s just a distraction. How he’s okay, but she doesn’t return the same feelings. How she just wants to focus on herself and seeing a guy once a week would be the best for her. She told me she would probably break up with him by Christmas.