As a disclosure, psychoanalysis not an exact science and this is just my amateur interpretation. I am not an expert and I have not studied everything there is to know about these things, this is just my experience with it from a 2020 perspective.

If you've watched Jordan Peterson videos you'll probably like this post.

I have been very lucky. I've always had a gift to explore my unconscious through my dreams. Not at first, at first I was just like anyone else, forgetting them every night, but over time through trying to lucid dream I got better at it extremely quickly. After I began lucid dreaming, I realized I could learn much more about myself, and humanity in general, through interpreting my dreams. After reading Freud's book (which by the way, is extremely verbose, even translated from German) I started to look for certain things in my dreams and in other people and realized many patterns society openly mocks and rejects in our current time.

Dreams

I found the best way to represent the aspects easily found in your dreams are with Jung's model of The Shadow and the Anima, I think Freud calls the Shadow the trickster, but it's harder to grasp what he actually represents from that view. These terms are very easy to understand initially and if you start working with your dreams you will realize these 2 are always in every dream you ever have, this is proven cross culturally, it is an aspect of men. [The Shadow] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shadow_(psychology) is the repressed, therefore unknown, aspects of the personality including those often considered to be negative. And The Anima is the contrasexual aspect of a man's psyche, his inner personal feminine conceived both as a complex and an archetypal image. There are many other aspects of the psyche that interact with these, but this is all we really need to know in this context.