I've never actually known about TRP or its principles and it's my first time on this sub, but looking back on my life throughout my teenage years I naturally applied a crude, intuitive version of it: I was cocky, dominant, got into fights, and was forward with girls. I didn't give a damn about being rejected, and if a girl didn't like me/ lost interest I'd laugh because I had 2-3 other girls already showing me interest. Note: I never tried to be anything, it's just naturally who I was. And I never had any problem picking up girls. I am decently attractive (6'1, relatively in shape) but people would often comment on me getting girls 'out of my league' - I could easily get the hottest girls without effort.

Fast forward to several years later and I'm in my mid-twenties. I met a beautiful girl that I was genuinely intereted in about 6 months ago, and we really hit it off. She always made comments about how she hated the way I was cocky, or that I was very argumentative and never admitted I was wrong. As I started to develop strong feelings for her, I began to get worried about losing her (something I've never felt before with any girl) and became paranoid - what if she met someone better than me at work? She's hot enough to do better, what if she leaves me?

I started to change in an effort to ensure I never lost her - I was always extra sweet to her, always complimenting her every second of the day and just being what I thought was 'the perfect boyfriend' - a complete opposite of the classic asshole I had been all those years.

Last night we had an argument, and it was over something that I genuinely disagreed with, but because I was scared of her getting angry and leaving I apologised to her and said she was right. What she replied genuinely blew my mind:

"I fell for you because you were a cocky asshole that all the girls wanted, and it amazes me how you find new ways to be more fragile every day"