I can now understand much better why the suicide rate for men is about 1.7 times that of women, and wanted to quickly write about it in the hopes that if anyone else is out there going through it they go get help.

I wrote it as a field report (sort of) because it's a real example of something I just experienced.

This week it was my birthday. My birthday has never been a good time for me as I have little contact with my family, I’m divorced (although happy about that) and have zero solid friends I can call if I have a problem. I’m a musician and fitness guy and know lots of people but the relationships are quite superficial. Recently I got myself into a business situation that has been causing me a lot of stress and I think the birthday just tipped me over the edge into a pretty dark depression. Darker than I've been in a long time.

I was driving my kids to school Thursday morning and literally going over scenarios. Asking myself how I would do it, what would be the most effective method. Effectively problem solving my own death. When I said good bye to my kids I seriously considered driving myself to a hospital for a 72 hour lockdown because that’s the state of mind I was in and had decided to end it with a hose through the window of my car.

Needless to say, I’m still here. One thing I know a lot about is physiology and I also basically told myself I needed to get through the day. I focused on work and after using some things to make me feel better (music and working out usually does the trick) I made it. Scared the crap out of me though.