Here’s a business example I hope might prove useful to all of you here: I’ll go through the story and highlight the lessons you need to adhere to as I go.

Story time. I’m a self-employed rehab trainer who has run my own business for years. Recently one of the places I worked out of was closing, so another trainer who I had known for several years approached me about the possibility of teaming up together and opening our own gym. I didn’t know him personally very well, but I knew his work ethic (which was high) and that he had a good system under his belt and if we worked together, we would likely do well.

For the past ten months we planned, developed logos and web sites, found property and secured it and done a six-figure renovation with the help of a hefty bank loan. We had five staff members. There’s been insane hours and stress poured into this thing over that time. I personally spent probably a couple of hundred hours on the place unpaid to try to get things rolling.

Lesson One: Trust your gut

There were red flags from the start. Stupid decisions made by me that were far too trusting in this other person. When it came time to finally sign the bank loan I was actually on the phone with my lawyer asking what he would do because I wasn’t 100% sure. Not having any other options (or at least that’s how I felt) forced me to do something that my mind was screaming at me not to.

Lesson Two: Don’t listen to what they say, watch what they do

The treatment escalated once the location opened and started to operate and my role as an equal was subverted repeatedly. Things we had agreed upon weren’t honoured. Decisions were made without my input. And when confronted about it, he ignored things, said I was crazy or sluffed them off as a mistake. He had control over the finances and things started to not get paid on time.